Awards Season!

It’s certainly been a season for awards and the nominations have been rapidly piling up! I’m always delighted to be nominated and recognised by my fellow bloggers. I’m very pleased to announce I’ve been nominated for:

–  TWO Sunshine Awards! by the fabulous Jennifer Windram and by the fabulous Lindsay Cummings

–  One Versatile Blogger Award by the incredible Taylor Eaton

–  One Family Award also by Taylor.

As these awards take quite a while to compile (or is that just me being slow?), I have put the awards all in a hat so the award I will respond to is….

… the Versatile Blogger Award!!!

Versatile Blogger Award

Versatile Blogger Award

The rules of this award are:

– You must thank the person who gave it to you, and include a link to their blog.

– You must tell the person who nominated you seven things about yourself

– You must then select fifteen blogs that you’ve recently discovered or regularly follow, nominate them for the award, and notify them of their nomination.

First of all, if you haven’t yet discovered Jennifer, Lindsay and Taylor, I’d suggest you visit their blogs (links above). These bloggers are really exceptional and there is superb writing on their sites.

My nominations for the Versatile Blogger are:

J.S. Collyerhttp://jcollyer.wordpress.com/ For some of the best flash fiction I’ve ever read plus fantastic writing about writing. This post is one of my all-time favourites and will have you running out the door to seek inspiration!

Eternal Atlantis (Luciana Cavallaro) http://luccav.com/- Who doesn’t love mythology? Great posts about myths and the ancient world, plus links to this writer’s excellent fiction.

Gerard C Ryan https://gerardryan.wordpress.com/- This guy’s poetry is amazing. He has a mastery of words I’ll never have. They say writers should read more poetry, so look no further than here.

How Anxious http://howanxious.wordpress.com/- Another poet whose work consistently blows me away. How can you capture so much feeling and emotion in such few words? I’ll never be a poet and I am in awe of those who are.

Andy G Art http://andyyg.wordpress.com/- Amazing and mesmerising pen and ink sketches of landscapes and buildings. There is something so inspiring about handcrafted work that no computer program will ever match.

A.R. Neal http://caveofscribes.starvingactivist.com– One of the first bloggers I discovered on WordPress. Very fine writing here indeed.

Tales of Fiction http://eilisphillipsblog.wordpress.com/- Excellent flash fiction. ‘Trick or Treat’ is one of the best and spookiest Halloween stories I’ve read!

Synapse on Fire http://synapseonfire.com/- Sometimes you read a story and it stays with you for a long time. This happened when I read ‘And the Day Passes’. I love writers who envelop their readers in place, landscape and emotion. Check out this writer’s work and you will see what I mean.

13th Floor Paradigmhttp://13thfloorparadigm.wordpress.com/A great little writer hangout, often with story prompts and workshops to participate in.

Bruce GoodmanA story a day http://bbgoodman.wordpress.com/ This blogger posts a story a day! What more could you want!

I will have to stop there, and save up other bloggers for another time!

Now, here are seven facts about me:

1.  I would like to have a pet, but I live in a small apartment. I live vicariously by patting other people’s dogs.

2.  When I was a kid, I had a pet cow called Pinky.

3.  I once went to Carnival in Germany dressed as a witch.

4.  I almost ran away with the ballet. Ten years ago, I was living in the centre of Sydney and a ballet troupe was staying on a floor in my apartment building. I was in the lift one night and a man was saying goodbye to one of the dancers. He turned to me and said, “Are you with the ballet too?” Talk about temptation! Unfortunately I’ve never done ballet, and I feared I couldn’t pretend I had a sore foot all the time. Next time, I’m hoping the circus might come to town.

5. I’m not one for posting photos of myself, but just in case I am ever in the same airline/supermarket queue as you, this is what I look like:

Looking deep into the iPhone, determined not to smile...

Looking deep into the iPhone, determined not to smile…

6. I’ve never been kayaking.

7.  I’m thinking of writing a cookbook for writers. Here are two of my save-money-and-buy-your-own-ingredients-at-the-market “writer at home” dishes.

My version of a pizza

My version of a pizza 

It looks like I've already eaten part of this bacon and pumpkin risotto - and I possibly have!

It looks like I’ve already eaten part of this bacon and pumpkin risotto – and I possibly have!

Happy blogging everyone!

29 thoughts on “Awards Season!

  1. That’s so sweet! Thank you kindly for the mention and I’m not surprised you are nominated for so many fun awards:) I currently am behind on two and feel terrible, so don’t worry-I understand.

    What I can’t believe is that you had a pet cow. How cute! That deserves a blog post all in itself.

    • Thanks Lindsay! Yes, I was think Pinky might deserve his own post (he was a steer). He was very cute when he was young, and though he grew to alarming proportions (horns and all) he never lost his kind and thoughtful nature.

  2. Congratulations M.C. You deserve it all. Always inspired by your blog. Many thanks for the nomination. I don’t know anything about this stuff and I’ll have to check it out. Love the facts about you. Very best wishes.

    • No problem at all! I think all these WordPress awards are really a way of formally recognising blogs you enjoy and sharing them with your other followers.

      It does take quite a long time to compile, so there is no need to display the award or pass it on. It’s just a way to say thank you to your favourite bloggers!

  3. Congrats on all your awards. Love your ballet story. I’ve always wanted to be a dancer, but sadly I lack the talent, especially for that kind dancing.

    I’m glad you posted the pic of yourself. It’s always nice to put a face to the name. And I can see you trying not too smile 🙂

    • Thanks Jennifer! Yes I was looking at a blog the other week and I couldn’t see a pic of the blogger. And I thought that’s unusual – until I realised I don’t have a pic either!

      Frankly I could have done better. I look like a not very impressed neighbour standing outside someone’s door. Next time I’ll have to put on more makeup/be doing something more interesting. This will be part of the blog redecoration plan.

      My gravatar probably needs a rethink too.

  4. First of all, congratulations on the awards and secondly (and no less) thank you very much for the nomination, but more so for the kind words!
    It’s a pleasure to be on this list, it really is. And I will get on the wee rules as soon as I’m a little less busy.

    Keep up the good work! Oh, and I’ll be using the list of nominations for a point of reference of good blogs that I’m not yet aware of. So, for that also, cheers. 🙂

  5. Hey, thank you so much! I have been slack of late on the blogging front but this has reminded me to get back in gear. So a double thank you! Also I am totally clueless about how these blogging award things work so you have reminded to look further into that as well when I get home 🙂 You are a star! Thank you for all the kind comments 🙂

      • Oh you really did! I even started work on a new horror story! So you did me a huge favour, nothing is more inspiring than knowing that someone else other than me is reading (and enjoying) my tales 🙂
        I’ll be posting new stuff soon. Thank you!

  6. Congratulations! And thank you so much for your kind consideration. I want to have a pet dog myself and I love how you are trying not to smile in the photograph. 🙂 And poke me when you see some circus around, I would run away with it as well.

Leave a Reply

