The Liebster Award

Image

It’s the Liebster Award!

I was delighted to receive nominations for the Liebster award recently from both the fabulous Vicky Pointing and the fabulous Jennifer Windram!

This award is a way to recognise bloggers and encourage readers to discover new blogs. I have nominated 5 exceptional bloggers for the Liebster award:

http://illustrazz.wordpress.com/ for funny cartoons

http://marykillustrations.wordpress.com/ for beautiful drawings

http://maximalspace.wordpress.com/ for intriguing and fascinating things

http://racheliliffe.wordpress.com/ for amusing reflections on writing

http://chronicnonsense.wordpress.com/ for great flash fiction

As part of the award, Vicky and Jennifer have each sent me 10 questions to answer. Since the nominations came in around the same time, I am adapting the rules a little by answering 6 of Vicky’s questions and 6 of Jennifer’s.

*  *  *  *  *

Jennifer’s questions:

Do you believe in ghosts? 

Apart from the one who lives in my cupboard, no.

Have you/would you go skydiving? 

Chicken that I am, I’d have to say no and no. When I’m on a commercial airplane I love looking at the clouds and the landscape below, but I’ve never had a desire to go out there.

Have you started your Christmas shopping?

Not yet! But since I’ve been discovering so many blogs, I was thinking I might have an indie Christmas this year. I’ve already got my eye on a few things on Amazon and Etsy.com!

When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up? 

Well, it seemed pretty obvious when I was a kid. You would either be a glamorous astronaut or you would be a stylish private investigator (Cybil Shepherd in Moonlighting being a perfectly reasonable role model to me). Like many of my generation, I have been greatly let down by reality.

Where would you travel if money and time were no issue? 

Well if money was no issue, I would travel by private plane across to Easter Island, then island hop across the Pacific Ocean (Tahiti, New Caledonia, Pohnpei) and then fly into the mountain kingdom of Bhutan and see the Himalayas.

 Who inspires you?

People who persevere no matter what life throws at them and who contribute to the betterment of humanity.

*  *  *  *  *

Vicky’s questions

 If you could only save three items from your home, what would they be?

One pen, a pad of paper and a jar of instant coffee.

If you could be any superhero or mythic god for a day, which one would you choose and why?

Well, I’ll be careful about this question because frankly a lot of those mythological figures seem to have a lot of dramas and I wouldn’t want to find myself incurring the wrath of Zeus or something. It might be cool to be a Dryad (forest spirit) and spend the day wandering the woods and the mountains.

What book, poem or film do you wish you had written / directed?

If I had written Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, John Milton’s Paradise Lost and directed Fritz Lang’s film Metropolis, I’d be fairly satisfied with my life.

Why do you have a blog?

I wanted to join Pinterest because I had an idea that was the surefire way to attract millions of people to my short stories on Amazon (I am not sure the rationality of this line of thinking). Then I discovered you need something to pin from. So I started a wordpress blog, and that’s when I realised that is where all the writers are. My poor old Pinterest boards never got past the construction phase and have been taken down for the time being.

What one thing do you find most helpful when writing / blogging? e.g. silence / music / biscuits

Instant coffee (see 1 above). And battery power in the computer.

 What’s been the most fun thing about blogging so far? 

Discovering that WordPress is a great creative community! It’s so inspiring to see what other people are doing and to get feedback from other writers. You can be reading the work of a writer living anywhere in the world. (Being nominated for this award by a blogger in the U.S and a blogger in the U.K while sitting here in Australia, being one example!)

What’s the hardest thing about blogging?

Everything has been pretty good so far. Hopefully I will be just as enthusiastic in 2023. I’m also just a bit worried that if I eventually do have 1,009,932 followers, I will spend my entire life on WordPress.

*  *  *  *  *

 

So here are my 10 questions for my lucky nominees:

 

1. Which artist inspires you most?

2. Which historical figure would you most like to meet?

3. Which historical figure would you most like to be?

4. What is your favourite word (in any language) and why?

5. Which animal/insect scares you most?

6. Where would you most like to travel?

7. What is the best thing about blogging?

8. What is the hardest thing about blogging?

9. Do you believe in ghosts?

10. What did you have for lunch today?

Participation is entirely optional!  Here are the General Rules of the Liebster Award:

  • Each nominee must link back to the person who nominated them.
  • Answer the 10 questions which are given to you by the nominator.
  • Nominate 10 other bloggers for this award who have less than 200 followers.
  • Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
  • Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them.

Happy blogging!

10 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Great answers. Love the one about the ghosts 🙂

    Pinterest is fun, but I’ve used it more inspiration. You can create some cool storyboards with the amazing images they have on there: from fairies to good friends drinking coffee to old, abandoned insane asylums. You can find almost anything on there.

    Will be checking out your nominations next 🙂

    • Thank you for the great questions! Yes, I had a serious answer and a fun answer for the ghost question and decided on the fun answer! (There’s no ghost in my cupboard, but I better check…)

      It’s certainly true Pinterest has great stuff. I may get back there one day! Do check out the other blogs – they are really good!

  2. Pingback: Showered With Praise… | Rachelloon Productions

Leave a Reply

